Board of Directors Annual Election Notice

Annual Membership Meeting
Tuesday, April 9, 2019 6:00 P.M. Business Meeting @ The Abilene Zoo ~ 2070 Zoo Lane, Abilene, TX 79602


There are three (3) director positions open for election in 2019. The Nominating Committee, appointed by the Chairman of the Board, has nominated one member for each board position to be filled. The three nominees are as follows:


Zane Dennis has served on the First Abilene FCU Board of Directors for 17+ years and has previously served as Chairman of the Board for 9 of those years. He has worked at Hendrick Medical Center for 37 years and currently is the Director of Facility Management. In his role he oversees property management, grounds, environmental services, safety, transportation and centralized transport. Zane is married to Kim and they have three boys Chad (29), Brett (25) and Trey (22). Zane is a member of the Church of Christ at Remington Ridge.

Nancy Edgar is currently the Treasurer of the Board of Directors for First Abilene Federal Credit Union. She has been married to Randy Edgar for 40 years. They have 2 grown children, Nathan and Alicia and have 2 grandchildren. Nancy retired in 2018 with 40 years working in the Accounting profession, 31 of those years at Hendrick Medical Center. In Nancy’s spare time she enjoys, scrapbooking, quilting, sewing, traveling and RVing. Married for 40 years.

Josh New has served on the credit union Board of Directors since 2016. He is an Abilene Police Department K-9 Officer. He joined the department in 2007. He was named Patrol Officer of the Year in 2012. He and his K-9, Tica, do many events around Abilene educating children and the public about APD. Josh previously served in the United States Airforce and was stationed at Minot Air Force Base and then Dyess Air Force Base. While in the Air Force he was a K-9 Handler also. He is the Treasurer for the USPCA Region 25, Second Vice President of the Abilene Police Officers Association and President of Operation Blue Santa. Josh has been married to his wife, JJ, since 2000. They have two children, Zach (15) and Avery (11). Josh has been a member of the credit union since 2007.

Further nominations may be made by official petition signed by 500 eligible members. Official petitions and the rules and instructions for the completion of the official petition may be obtained by contacting the credit union’s administrative office, located at 1118 Pine Street, Abilene, Texas 79601, between the hours of 9 a.m. and 4 p.m. Monday through Friday. Official petitions must be completed in full compliance with the election rules as set forth in the Rules and Instructions for the completion of the official petition, and must include each signer’s signature and printed name, the last 4 digits of the signer’s member number, and the signer’s complete address and telephone number. Members who are 18 years of age or older and who meet certain requirements under the Texas Finance Code and regulations of the National Credit Union Administration are eligible for election. Official petitions must be accompanied by a signed statement from the nominee that he or she is agreeable to the nomination and will accept office if elected, and should also include a brief statement of qualifications and biographical data. Elected officials are legally responsible for the fiscal integrity of the credit union and for compliance with state and federal laws.

Official petitions must be filed with the Secretary of the Board of Directors at the credit union office located at 1118 Pine Street, Abilene, Texas 79601, by 4 p.m. on Thursday, February 28, 2019, which is the closing date for receiving nominations by petition. If no official petitions are received by 4 p.m. on Thursday, February 28, 2019, there will be no election by ballot and no nominations from the floor. When only one member is nominated for each position to be filled, each nominee shall be deemed elected by general consent or acclamation. If there is more than one nominee for any position, the election shall be by mail ballot and the Secretary of the Board of Directors shall cause printed ballots to be mailed to members eligible to vote. In such event, the election shall be determined by plurality vote.